Source Article: "The Colored Churches of Frankfort" by Dr. E. E. Underwood

Publication: The State Journal (Frankfort, KY) • Saturday, October 3, 1936

Transcribed By: Anne Holder Lee

Church Organization & Property History

First Baptist Church (Colored) was organized in 1833 under the leadership of its first pastor, Rev. Henderson Williams.

In its early decades, the congregation worshiped in a building on Clinton Street adjacent to the state prison walls, where they remained for over seventy years until 1904.

Land Purchase & Court of Appeals Decision (1904)

In 1904, the congregation purchased its current site to erect a new house of worship. Local opposition arose in the neighborhood, leading some area property owners to challenge the construction in the courts.

The legal dispute was eventually appealed to the Kentucky Court of Appeals, which handed down a unanimous decision upholding the congregation's constitutional rights to build their church on the site.

By 1936, the church also owned a parsonage on Clinton Street and an annex building fronting High Street, which housed congregational activities and a community library. The church celebrated its Centennial Anniversary in 1933.

Pastoral Leadership

Most ministers serving First Baptist Church (Colored) enjoyed long pastorates. Prominent early and long-serving pastors include:

Minister Name Role & Tenure Notes
Rev. Henderson Williams First pastor; organized the church in 1833
Rev. James Monroe Notable long-term pastorate
Rev. Robert Martin Notable long-term pastorate
Rev. Eugene Evans Notable long-term pastorate
Rev. H. H. Bailey Notable long-term pastorate
Rev. J. W. Broaddus Serving as pastor as of 1936 (over 4 years of service)
← Back to Church Directory